International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA) Nominees Revealed – Chronixx & Etana Lead the Pack!

Written by Red Carpet Shelley. Posted in Caribbean Culture, Caribbean Entertainment News, Music News, Red Carpet Shelley Home

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Published on August 13, 2015 with No Comments


Chronixx leads the IRAWMA nominations with seven nods

Nominees and special Awardees for the 2014/15, 34th Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) were officially revealed last Saturday night on Music fans and the general public can now vote for the winners at

Some 150 reggae and world music entertainers, groups and others from the industry were nominated, seven for special awards. The winners will be announced at the star-studded 34th annual IRAWMA, at the prestigious and newly remodeled Bailey Hall at Broward College, 3501 Davie Road, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on Sunday, October 4th, 2015. The Red Carpet arrival and reception starts at 5:00pm and the Awards Showcase/Concert begins at 7:00pm.

Leading the list of nominees are, Chronixx with seven nominations, and Etana with four nods. Four nominees gained three nods. They are: Third World, Stephen Marley, Protoje, and Dexta Daps; while more than twenty of the other nominees gained two nominations.

Etana Gets Four IRAWMA nominations

Etana Gets Four IRAWMA nominations

Ticket prices, for this celebration, are as follows: VIP $100.00, the promo price is $75.00, and
for General admission the price is $50.00, while the promo price is $34; plus service fees.
You may call 877/9-REGGAE (973-4423) for all information pertaining to this 34th IRAWMA.

The 2015 Lifetime/Hall of Fame recipients will be A.J. Brown – Reggae legend current lead singer for Third World, Ed Robinson– Reggae Soul Singer, and the legendary Pluto Shervington. Special International Reggae and World Music Awards of Honor, will be presented to Latin great Tito Puente, Jr. and radio veteran John T. of WAVS 1170 AM Radio. Special South Florida Awards will be given to St. Vincent veteran musician Ploomie Lewis for more than 50 years contribution to the industry; and also, to drummer Ossie Elliott and Desmond Patterson of Rainbow Records, each for over 40 years contribution to the entertainment industry.

Music fans worldwide now have the final say in the selection of the winners by submitting their votes online or through the mail. All mail-in ballots should be post dated no later than September 08, 2015, which is the official deadline for voting. Mail-in ballots deadline from outside the United States is September 1st, 2015 All ballots mailed from outside the United States must be received by September 1, 2015 to be counted. Criteria: Voters should take into consideration the social relevance of materials, originality, sales, local/national/international performances, quality of performances, and stage appearances. Voters are not required to nominate artists in every category.

Both the Residence Inn- All Suites, by Marriott and the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott, located at Griffin Road and Anglers Avenue near the Fort Lauderdale International Airport will serve as the official hotels for the 34th IRAWMA. Please call 954/989-3636 or 954/981-2700, respectively, and mention “Reggae Awards” to get the IRAWMA special rate.

Supporting sponsors for the 34th IRAWMA include: Bailey Hall @ Broward College, VP Records, OnStage TV, JAMAICA (Jamaica Tourist Board), Rasta Love Punch, JAMUSA, Docs Wiz/Dawn Marie & Wiz Show; Hi Class Promotions; Riddims Marketing, Love Doc/Amazing Sour Sop Drinks, Events-R-Rus, Mikey B. Emcee Promotions, The Duke of Earle Group, and Ayiti TV others.

For media and/or sponsorship information, e-mail:,, call 312-541-0200 or 877-9-REGGAE (973- 4423).




Share this Article

About Red Carpet Shelley

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

There are currently no comments on International Reggae & World Music Awards (IRAWMA) Nominees Revealed – Chronixx & Etana Lead the Pack!. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment